Horizon makes it easy for people opt-in (or "subscribe") to receive your marketing communications, to change their opt-in details and preferences, and to unsubscribe completely whenever they want to. This is a vital aspect of permission-based marketing and Horizon gives you some standard "subscribe" and "unsubscribe" pages that you can tailor to meet your exact needs.
Setting up Subscriber actions
Your subscribe and unsubscribe processes, plus other related "subscriber actions" are setup and managed through the Horizon Settings area.
- Click | Settings | at the top-right of the screen.
- The "Subscriber actions" screen is the first screen that appears, with your "Subscribe" page link at the top. From the subscriber actions screen you can tailor your end-to-end subscriber management processes:
The Subscribe process
There are 3 steps to the standard Horizon subscribe process, to make sure that your subscribers are real people who genuinely want to opt-in. This process is often called "double opt-in":
- Subscribe page: A new subscriber fills out a form, giving their email address and optionally other data such as their name. They are then shown a "thank you" message which asks them to check their email inbox.
- Subscription confirmation message: Horizon automatically sends an email to the new subscriber, asking them to confirm their email address by clicking on a link.
- Confirmation page: When the new subscriber clicks the link, they are taken to a web page which confirms that their subscription is complete. The new subscriber is then added to your contact database.
Note: If you're storing more than one type of contact in your Horizon database, new subscribers will be added as the "default" type. You can change the default type of contact by going to:
The Unsubscribe process
The standard Horizon unsubscribe process uses two steps:
- Unsubscribe link: A special "unsubscribe" link is included in the footer (and optionally other places) in all marketing emails.
- Unsubscribe page: When a subscriber clicks the unsubscribe link, they are taken to a web page that lets them unsubscribe by clicking a button. If they click the button they are shown a message to confirm that they have been unsubscribed.
The Update your details process
This process lets subscribers update their own details and preferences online. It uses two steps:
- Update account link: A special "Update your preferences" link is included in the footer (and optionally other places) in all marketing emails.
- Update account page: When a subscriber clicks the "Update account" link, they are taken to a webpage that lets them review and update their details and opt-in preferences. When they submit their amended details they are shown a message to confirm that their details have been updated.
Additional Resources and Activities
Try out your "Subscribe" process!